Male reproductive system

The male reproductive system in humans consists of the following organs—a pair of testes, a pair of epididymis, a pair of vasa deferentia, an ejaculatory duct, a urethra, penis and accessory glands . The testes produce, sperms, the male gametes. The process of formation of sperms in the testes of an organism is called spermatogenesis. Each testis contains certain coiled tubes called seminiferous tubules that are actually responsible for the
production of sperms. These sperms are released from the testes and stored in the epididymis until mating. At the time of mating, the sperms are passed from the epididymis through the vas deferens to the ejaculatory duct. The ejaculatory duct opens into the urethra. In human males, the urethra is a common passage for sperms and urine. The urethra passes through an organ called penis, which is the copulatory organ (organ for transfer of sperms during mating or copulation) in humans. During their passage from the epididymis to the urethra, the sperms are mixed with certain secretions from the accessory glands. The sperms along with the secretions form the semen. During copulation, semen is discharged. The process of discharging of semen is called ejaculation. In one ejaculation about 200,000,000 (2 × 108) sperms are discharged.


  1. Now Plan your Pregnancy as you like with Ovulation Predictor. You can now choose your ovulating time, date and symptoms of pregnancy at your home